jump to navigation

Livestrong Day 2009 September 13, 2009

Posted by croissantandbagel in Uncategorized.
trackback

lemon biscuits

I happened across a food blogging event for Livestrong Day 2009 and although I think I might be too late, I thought I would post about it anyway. The idea is that you cook something with a yellow ingredient and then blog about it to raise awareness for cancer. I think it is a great idea and reading some of the stories is incredibly inspiring. After someone I am very close to had a brush with cancer several months ago I am just so thankful that everything seems to have worked out for them : )

My original plan turned out to be a bit disappointing- I did want to make a sort of lemon curd and almond and hazelnut dacquoise sandwich (Mum and P love lemon curd, and mum is trying to avoid flour). What I ended up with was a bizzare comination of sweet, tangy, crunchy and liquid. My teeth protested at such abuse. So while it didn’t live up to my hopes, I was left with an excellent icecream topping. I whipped the left over lemon curd used it for making little daisies instead, which ended up being more popular.

Sugar biscuits

  • 225gm unsalted butter, cubed and softened at room temperature
  • 100gm caster sugar
  • 2 tsp vanilla essence
  • Finely grated lemon zest
  • Pinch of salt
  • 320gm plain flour
  • Granulated sugar (for top)
  1. Cream butter and sugar. Add lemon zest and salt and beat until well mixed.
  2. Sift in flour. Mix until just combined, no more (it will look crumbly).
  3. Chill dough for at least an hour.
  4. Spread granulated sugar on a baking paper.
  5. Roll out to 7-10mm thickness between two sheets of baking paper (as dough gets sticky) and cut out shapes.
  6. Cut out small circles from half of the shapes (top layer). Lightly press these into granulated sugar. Place on top of base shapes and press down lightly.
  7. Chill the biscuits well before cooking them (at least several hours).
  8. To bake, preheat the oven to 180°C. Place the cookies onto a silpat mat. Bake until the edges are just starting to colour, about 8 to 10 minutes. Transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.
  9. Pipe whipped lemon curd into cut out circle.
Comments»

1. barbara - September 14, 2009

Lauara I’m so pleased to discover another Australian blog. Thank you for your entry. The biscuits would be perfect with my morning coffee about now.

2. barbara - September 14, 2009

I’m so sorry about the misspelling of your name.

croissantandbagel - September 16, 2009

Thanks for hosting the event! I’m pretty new to this but it is great to see how creative people are 🙂


Leave a Reply

